Breaking News
Home » Recruiting News » Midseason freshman of the year watchlist released

Midseason freshman of the year watchlist released

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected 12 outstanding first-year players for its 2013 Integris Wayman Tisdale Award Midseason Watch List. Members of the association’s board of directors chose the players to be included on the list as contenders for the national freshman of the year award.

The award is to be presented to the national freshman of the year at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards on April 15 at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City.

A trio of UCLA Bruins highlights the list that includes four players from the Pac-12 Conference. Bruin teammates Jordan Adams, Kyle Anderson and Shabazz Muhammad join Arizona State’s Jahii Carson on the watch list. Also, Michigan Wolverines teammates Glenn Robinson III and Nik Stauskas are recognized. Big 12 standouts from three schools were selected as well: Baylor’s Isaiah Austin, Kansas’ Ben McLemore and Oklahoma State’s Marcus Smart.

UNLV’s Anthony Bennett, along with McLemore, is also on the Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List as a candidate for national player of the year. Rounding out the Tisdale Award watch list are Kevin (Yogi) Ferrell of the Indiana Hoosiers and Nerlens Noel of the Kentucky Wildcats.

Following is the complete watch list:

Pos. No. Player, School Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
G 3 Jordan Adams, UCLA 6-5 220 Fr. Atlanta, Ga.
G 5 Kyle Anderson, UCLA 6-9 235 Fr. Fairview, N.J.
C 21 Isaiah Austin, Baylor 7-1 220 Fr. Arlington, Texas
F 15 Anthony Bennett, UNLV 6-8 240 Fr. Brampton, Ont.
G 1 Jahii Carson, Arizona State 5-10 175 Fr. Mesa, Ariz.
G 11 Kevin (Yogi) Ferrell, Indiana 6-0 178 Fr. Indianapolis, Ind.
G 23 Ben McLemore, Kansas 6-5 195 Fr. St. Louis, Mo.
G/F 15 Shabazz Muhammad, UCLA 6-6 225 Fr. Las Vegas, Nev.
F 3 Nerlens Noel, Kentucky 6-10 228 Fr. Everett, Mass.
F 1 Glenn Robinson III, Michigan 6-6 210 Fr. St. John, Ind.
G 33 Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State 6-4 225 Fr. Flower Mound, Texas
G 11 Nik Stauskas, Michigan 6-6 190 Fr. Mississauga, Ont.
By conference: Pac-12 (4), Big 12 (3), Big Ten (3), Mountain West (1), SEC (1).

The USBWA has chosen a national freshman of the year since the 1988-89 season when LSU’s Chris Jackson was the recipient. Last season, Kentucky’s Anthony Davis became the second winner of the Wayman Tisdale Award. Other notable previous winners of the national freshman of the year award include Kevin Durant, Carmelo Anthony, Jason Kidd and Chris Webber.

About Press Release

Check Also

UConn adds top 125 forward Tyler Polley

UConn has had quite a bit of success on the recruiting trail as of late, …


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *