Breaking News
Home » High School » 2013 Gatorade state players of the year announced

2013 Gatorade state players of the year announced

In its 28th year of honoring the nation’s best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with USA TODAY High School Sports, announced on Thursday their 2012-13 Gatorade Boys Basketball Players of the Year for each state.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the court. The selected players from each state are now finalists for the prestigious Gatorade National Boys Basketball Player of the Year award to be announced in March. These players also join an elite alumni association of past state boys basketball award winners, including Dwight Howard (2003-04, SW Atlanta Christian Academy, Ga.), Chauncey Billups (1993-94 and 1994-95, George Washington HS, Colo.), Jason Kidd (1991-92, St. Joseph Notre Dame HS, Calif.), Paul Pierce (1994-95, Inglewood HS, Calif.) and Chris Bosh (2001-02, Lincoln HS, Texas).

Michigan-bound Zak Irvin (photo credit: adidas)
Michigan-bound Zak Irvin (photo credit: adidas)

In terms of recruiting, the Duke Blue Devils (Jabari Parker and Semi Ojeleye), Michigan Wolverines (Derrick Walton and Zak Irvin) and Indiana Hoosiers (Luke Fischer and Troy Williams) each scored two state players of the year from the 2013 class. Additionally, the North Carolina Tar Heels have a 2013 (Isaiah Hicks) and 2014 (Joel Berry) prospect that were named a player of the year.

Interestingly, a rare 2016 player made the list, 6′-6″ wing Josh Langford of Alabama.

Bryce AlfordPGLa Cueva HSAlbuquerqueNM2013New Mexico
Marcus AllenGCentennial HSLas VegasNV2013Stanford
Garet BealG/FJonesport-Beals HSJonesportME2013Maine
Casey BensonGCorona del Sol HSTempeAZ2014Underclassmen
Joel BerryGLake Highland Preparatory SchoolOrlandoFL2014North Carolina 2014
Devin BookerGMoss Point HSMoss PointMS2014Underclassmen
Stephen ClarkPGDouglass HSOklahoma CityOK2013Oklahoma State
Dominique CollierGDenver East HSDenverCO2014Underclassmen
Bonzie ColsonFSt. Andrew's SchoolBarringtonRI2014Underclassmen
Nick EmeryGLone Peak HSHighlandUT2013BYU
Kentan FaceyFLong Island Lutheran HSBrookvilleNY2013Connecticut
Luke FischerF/CGermantown HSGermantownWI2013Indiana
Eric GendronGMerrimack HSMerrimackNH2014Underclassmen
Jack GibbsPGWesterville North HSWestervilleOH2013Davidson
Tyler GibsonCRockland HSRocklandMA2013UMass-Lowell
Brannen GreeneGTift County HSTiftonGA2013Kansas
Josiah GustafsonG/FMillard North HSOmahaNE2013Pittsburg State
Zach HansonFTF Riggs HSPierreSD2013Creighton
Dominque HawkinsGMadison Central HSRichmondKY2013Undeclared
Calvin HermansonFLake Oswego HSLake OswegoOR2013St. Mary's
Isaiah HicksFJ.F. Webb HSOxfordNC2013North Carolina
Zak IrvinGHamilton Southeastern HSFishersIN2013Michigan
A.J. JacobsonG/FShanley HSFargoND2013North Dakota State
Kris JenkinsFGonzaga College HSWashington, DCDC2013Villanova
Tyus JonesPGApple Valley HSApple ValleyMN2014Underclassmen
Cody KelleyPGCampbell County HSGilletteWY2014Underclassmen
Adam KlieGService HSAnchorageAK2013Undeclared
Joshua KoGKalaheo HSKailuaHI2013Undeclared
Josh LangfordGMadison AcademyMadisonAL2016Underclassmen
Justin McKieGIrmo HSColumbiaSC2013South Carolina
Jeremy MorganGIowa City West HSIowa CityIA2013Northern Iowa
Daine MullerGSkyview HSBillingsMT2013Undeclared
Austin NicholsFBriarcrest Christian HSEadsTN2013Memphis
Semi OjeleyeG/FOttawa HSOttawaKS2013Duke
Jabari ParkerFSimeon Career AcademyChicagoIL2013Duke
Bobby PortisFHall HSLittle RockAR2013Arkansas
Roschon PrinceG/FLong Beach Poly HSLong BeachCA2013USC
Matt St. AmourGMissiquoi Valley Union HSSwantonVT2013Undeclared
Kurt SteidlGRidgefield HSRidgefieldCT2013Vermont
Sabri ThompsonGSanford SchoolHockessinDE2013Northwestern State
Jason ToddGJackson HSMill CreekWA2014Underclassmen
Trey TouchetGSt. Thomas More HSLafayatteLA2014Underclassmen
Karl Towns Jr.CSt. Joseph HSMetuchenNJ2014Underclassmen - Kentucky
Steve VasturiaGSt. Joseph's Preparatory SchoolPhiladelphiaPA2013Notre Dame
Derrick Walton Jr.PGChandler Park AcademyHarper WoodsMI2013Michigan
Andrew WigginsFHuntington Prep.HuntingtonWV2013Undeclared
Troy WilliamsFOak Hill AcademyMouth of WilsonVA2013Indiana
Justise WinslowFSt. John's SchoolHoustonTX2014Underclassmen
Kyle WolfFRockhurst HSKansas CityMO2013Undeclared
Isaiah WrightPGBorah HSBoiseID2014Underclassmen
Marquis WrightPGNorth Point HSWaldorfMD2013Loyola (MD)

About K.J. Hassenstab

K.J. Hassenstab is the publisher of the College Basketball Newcomers Guide book and He founded in 2009, and has contributed to SlamOnline, Dime Magazine's, and, along with other publications in the past. Hassenstab has covered grassroots, high school and basketball recruiting for over a decade. Follow on Twitter, @Hoopniks.

Check Also


2016 McDonald’s All American rosters named

On Sunday night, the roster for the 2016 McDonald’s All American game was announced on …


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *